Friday, September 19, 2008

Trains, planes, and automobiles

Sorry haven't been here in a while but here it is...
1. All these conservative gaffes are starting to become a little suspect to me, so my theory, I think they are being manufactured by the party's own war room. First reason, to stir their base, the conservative hardcores love a lot of what they have gaffed about. And second, to make them look like they are constantly under attack from the liberal elitist media. I think the tories are still trying to profess the image of scrappy underdog the everyman party that is still fighting the controlling elites, which include all those other parties. Evidence: the conservatives continue to remain on top. (Just a theory but now it is out there)

2. Not buying the explanation some journalists and the Prime Minister himself are giving for Conservative MP Mr. Ritz big gaffe this week over his off-hand remark about the listeriosis deaths. The fact is, not everyone does make a habit of joking about dead people, so I don't buy it not one bit. Nice try though. You know what I think, a dumb man made a dumb comment. At this point in his political career he should know better. He represents people for heavens sake! Anyone with that little to offer during a crisis does not deserve to represent anything.

3. Now ignoring this gaffe, the real story as evidenced by the conference call conversation is that his concern when this whole listeria outbreak was blowing was not what the government should be doing to help people but rather how to handle this so the image of the party would look better. This smells of a party not overly concerned with policy but rather looks.

4. The team with no leader and the leader with no team... Take a guess at what I am talking about.

5. I really like the idea of the green party traveling across the country by train. It just sounds like a whole lot of fun. The plane just ain't cool anymore, sounds so dreary.

3 Comments:

Blogger 3 AAA said...

too cool wish I was there!

7:27 PM  
Blogger 3 AAA said...

wish I was there!

7:27 PM  
Blogger 3 AAA said...

A cynical view of the gaffe but probably not far off base...a party that has to be scripted even for their bloopers!Wow!
And a joke is a joke but not when it is personalized ...you can make a fat person joke especially if you are a fat person like me or John Candy but not about John Candy to John Candy, I think. or at least think before you gaffe!

7:31 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home